e EMA Universities - Global Campus Europe

Global Campus Europe


EMA is defined by inter-university cooperation among 43 prestigious universities

The EMA programme is co-designed, co-taught and governed by 43 participating universities and human rights centres representing all member states of the European Union as well as the United Kingdom and Switzerland. Each university is renowned for their leading role in education, research and advocacy in human rights and democratisation.
Each university is represented by an EMA National Director who sits on the EMA governing bodies. Together EMA National Directors work on curriculum development, teaching methodology, student selection and evaluation, and the awarding of degrees. This makes the EMA programme a unique example of inter-university cooperation in Europe. The benefits are multiple: for students, all the EMA participating universities together present a variety of perspectives that no single department or faculty could offer; for lecturers and experts, who devote their time and expertise to this common endeavour, the cooperation brings insight, inspiration, and a strong sense of community, which in turn enriches the participating institutions.

EMA Participating Universities and EMA Directors

University of Vienna, Austria – TBC
University of Graz, Austria – Prof. Dr. Gerd Oberleitner
KU Leuven, Belgium – Prof. Koen Lemmens
Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB), Belgium – Prof. Julien Pieret
Sofia University St Kliment Ohridski, Bulgaria – Prof. Boriana Musseva
University of Zagreb, Croatia – Prof. Dr. Siniša Zrinščak
University of Cyprus, Cyprus – Prof. Kalliope Agapiou-Josephides
Masaryk University of Brno, Czech Republic – Prof. PhDr. Jan Holzer
University of Southern Denmark / Danish Institute for Human Rights, Denmark – Dr. Eva Maria Lassen
University of Tartu, Estonia – Prof. Lauri Malksoo
Åbo Akademi University, Finland – Prof. Dr. Elina Pirjatanniemi
University of Helsinki, Finland – Prof. Jan Klabbers
Université de Strasbourg, France – Prof. Florence Benoît-Rohmer
Université de Montpellier, France – Prof. Christophe Maubernard
Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany – Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Heintze
University of the Bundeswehr Munich, Germany Prof. Dr. Christina Binder
University of Hamburg, Germany – Dr. Hendrik Hegemann
Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece – Prof. Despoina Klavanidou
Panteion University Athens, Greece – Prof. Maria-Daniella Marouda
Eotvos Lorand University Budapest, Hungary – Dr. Orsolya Salát
University of Galway, Ireland – Prof. Raymond Murphy
University College Dublin, Ireland – Dr. Graham Finlay
University of Padua, Italy – Prof. Paolo De Stefani
Ca’ Foscari University of Venice, Italy – Prof. Adalberto Perulli
University of Latvia, Latvia – Prof. Artūrs Kučs
University of Vilnius, Lithuania – Prof. Dr. Tomas Davulis
Université du Luxembourg, Luxembourg – Prof. Dr. Robert Harmsen
University of Malta, Malta – Prof. Anna Khakee
Maastricht University, the Netherlands – Dr. Andrea Broderick
Utrecht University, the Netherlands – Prof. Dr. Antoine Buyse
Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznan / Poznan Human Rights Centre, Poland – Dr. Agata Hauser
University of Coimbra, Portugal – Prof. Jónatas Machado
New University of Lisbon, Portugal – Prof. Maria Teresa Pizarro Beleza
University of Bucharest, Romania – Prof. Radu Carp
Comenius University, Bratislava, Slovakia – Prof. Mgr. Andrey Rikhter
University of Ljubljana, Slovenia – Prof. Dr. Petra Roter
University of Deusto, Bilbao, Spain – Prof. Felipe Gómez
University of Seville, Spain – Prof. Carmen Marquez Carrasco
Lund University, Sweden – Associate Prof. Karol Nowak
Uppsala University, Sweden – Prof. Anna-Sara Lind
Institute of Social Ethics – University of Lucerne, Switzerland – Prof. Dr. Peter G. Kirchschläger
University of Nottingham, United Kingdom – Prof. Jeffrey Kenner
Queen’s University, Belfast, United Kingdom – Prof. Thérèse Murphy